Registrar Awards

Please contact the administrator of the New Zealand Dermatological Society Incorporated if you wish to apply for any of these. Email Jane Telfer.

1. Turnbull Hodge Award

Open to 1st and 2nd year trainees.
$1,000.00 awarded to the registrar who makes the best presentation(s) at each annual NZDSI meeting. Established in August 2009.
Abstracts to be submitted via 

Recipients of Turnbull Hodge awards

2023 Anna Luo
2022 Selene Ting
2021 Ken Ip
2020 Shaochen Liu
2019 Marc Lawrence
2018 Yena Kim
2017 Jennifer Taylor
2016 Helen Gordon
2015 Susan Simpkin
2014 Peggy Chen
2013 Harriet Cheng
2012 Harriet Cheng

2. Trans Tasman Award:

$2,000.00 awarded alternate years for an excellent presentation at NZDSI meeting. This award gives the recipient the opportunity to present their presentation at the following ACD meeting. Included is free registration at the meeting. The TransTasman award may or may not be awarded to the same individual that receives the Turnbull Hodge award.

The next TransTasman Award will be considered at the meeting to be held in 2025.

The presentations will be judged out of 100 points according the following criteria: (Download as PDF)

  • Originality of the paper (0-20)
  • Research component more for a research paper (10-20), vs a case report (0-10)
  • Usefulness to dermatology practice (0-20)
  • Presentation (quality of slides, delivery, etc.) (0-20)
  • Quality of discussion/conclusion (0-20)

Recipients of Trans Tasman awards

2023 Leah Jones
2021 Jenny Chung
2019 A J Sykes
2017 Helen Gordon
2015 Peggy Chen
2013 Chin Yun Lin
2011 Ritva Vyas
2009 Diana Purvis
2007 Ben Tallon
2005 Not Awarded
2003 Amy Stanway

Trainees Information

International Scholarship